A Lunch date at Hanam’s


From the Bbook Magazine “Continental Food

About the Author:

I am merely a young woman who is trying to enjoy every aspect of life, and that definitely includes eating! Though I am
not good with words, I do my best to blog about the awesome experience I had to promote places that deserve it!
This post is on the amazing lunch I had at an Kurdish/Middle Eastern restaurant, Hanam’s, in Central Edinburgh
http://eighthavenue.wordpress.com

A Lunch date at Hanam’s

Hanam’s serves a wide range of authentic Kurdish and Middle Eastern cuisine, with a prime location in Central Edinburgh near the famous Edinburgh Castle. In addition, they also have a dry bar featuring a whole range of non-alcoholic beverages as well as an outdoor balcony for shisha (they have both tabacco and non-tabacco flavours).  I dare say its a true middle eastern experience, especially since my companion was a Syrian who recommended the restaurant to me with great enthusiasm.

We began with Salata Shawan, a traditional salad of finely diced vegetables seasoned with lemon juice, olive oil, black pepper and yoghurt.

And followed with my favourite Dolma! It is made of aromatic rice warp by vine leaves, warmed through and served.

I simply can’t get enough of this!

After the starters, the main dish makes its appearance! I ordered Qozy Lamb, which is tender braised lamb on the bone served on Hanam’s special fragrant rice. It even comes with a side portion of shilah sauce.

My dear friend order the pomegranate rice made of luxurious Persian basmati rice cooked in pomegranate puree, and adorned with dries mixed berries.

I stole a spoonful of it and LOVED it!

We ended lunch with traditional Kurdish cardamon cha.  A strong tea that helps calm down the tummy after a great stuffing.

If you should pass by Edinburgh, even for just a while, you have to try out Hanam’s! It was the best dining experience I ever had, and it was so delicious!

I guess I should head there again when I return next month!

 

 

About how2bw

how2bw is a website started by IT professional working in Business warehousing and analytics using tools like SAP BW and Query Designer with more than 6 years of experience. The mission of this initiative is to provide handy information which is easy to understand and implement and may turn out to be very useful for those working in projects. Mostly the software help documents are not so easy to comprehend and search for specific issues. Also the software communities may be difficult to search for. In such cases, this website information becomes helpful as these are live scenarios experienced in the ongoing projects. How2hana.com is another such initiative to provide smooth transition of those working in BW to BW on HANA
This entry was posted in Archived entries, Browse BBOOKS themes, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.