Pines (Featured Post)


Moose at Schwabacher Landing

Moose at Schwabacher Landing (Photo credit: Photomatt28)

Back East, I’d walk in the woods.

There was no one nearby.

I’d speak one word,

Receive no response,

But nonetheless have companionship.
The forest knew and took care of me.

I think in sounds and geometric patterns

The forest knew and supplied them to me.

They were gentle and soft.

I’d step on a twig, sometimes deliberately,

And the snap would be a smile.
The twig forgave me and asked that I return.

In the snow there were animal tracks:

Rabbit. Deer. Moose. Bear.

When I’d see one in the flesh,

We’d pause and I’d crave acknowledgment.

The animal knew and gave that to me, silently,

And we’d move on.

When I needed excitement,

I’d sit by a stream and listen.

The water knew and entertained me.

I never needed long.

Now I’m gone, reluctantly urban.

The city doesn’t know me.

I’ll walk at night and get lost

On my own street.

When I walk in crowds

I’ve never felt more alone.

Someday I’ll go back to the woods

And it won’t begrudge my absence,

Long though that was.

It knows me and I’ll know it,

Someday. Someday.

I’ll find a tall dark pine,

Rest my cheek against the trunk,

Feel the bark- rough, cool, loving-

And I’ll take a deep breath

And sigh.

 

About the Author:

I’m a 23-year-old living in Denver, working in publishing. I just like to write.

Website
http://anonymousmisanthrope.wordpress.com/

 

About Akanksha

Akanksha Verma is a blogger and founder of two online magazines, BBOOKS and DNS. She is a SAP consultant by profession, graduated in chemical engg. and a homemaker. The mission of her magazines is to promote budding writers and to bridge the gap between printed mass media and blogs. BBOOKS is basically to promote bloggers from wordpress and DNS is for promoting indian food bloggers.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Browse BBOOKS themes, Solitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.