Travel to Italy


Sorry for the late post on travel, I was not well and was also little busy.

For the theme “Travel escapes for winters” I have received only one entry. So I am posting it directly here as a blog post.

Voting is therefore not valid for this week. You can however, rate the article. Rating is provided below the title of this post or you can write your feedback by leaving a comment here.

I hope you will enjoy the article.

Travel to Italy

Author: Kim Peddle

About the Author:

Kim has been writing her entire life, beginning with having some work published in a newspaper at the age of ten. She also works as an Environmental Scientist and Chemist. She resides on the Pacific West Coast of Canada and enjoys camping, cycling, hiking, swimming, dog training, baking, reading, as well as being a full time optimist and lover of life.

Country:

Canada

Website:

http://onesidedpancake.wordpress.com

 

I decided to take a journey in life. Literally. I packed my things and flew off on a ten day trip to Italy, travelling from Rome to Venice for the holiday season. I got a mixture of reactions from friends, most of whom said I was brave to go all by myself. I admit I got a little panicky as the time drew near. I had never traveled overseas before, with stops in Switzerland and Germany – completely unfamiliar territory.
Yet at the same time I felt giddy with excitement; entering into the unknown on a journey to new lands and experiences. I would finally get to walk the streets and see the sights that I had previously only read about or seen in movies. I packed my bags and triple-checked everything before the big day. I was fully prepared for what lay ahead. Or so I thought.
As I walked the streets of Rome, viewed the cathedrals and monasteries, ate olives, artichokes, pizza and drank wine, circumnavigated the statue of The David, crossed and re-crossed the Ponte DeVecchio, witnessed the Pope’s Christmas blessing in Vatican City, rode the canals of Venice in a gondola at sunset, celebrated the New Year in St. Mark’s square, craned my neck in the Sisteen Chapel and Doge’s Palace, wandered the ruins at the Colisseium, got lost in Florence, became found in San Gimignano and slept soundly in Assisi, one underlying theme repeated itself over and over again.

travel

Italians have a resiliency that brought them through thousands of years of ruin and rebirth. In Rome I was amazed to witness that, below the Forum, the most ancient part of Rome, there lies another layer of ruins yet to be discovered. The city itself is built upon so many layers of ruins that every time someone builds new construction they inevitably end up calling the historical society to examine the latest discovery that the shovels have revealed.

In Verona there is a man-made viewing platform right in the middle of the street showing the ruins just below the surface of the town. The Colosseum itself was once covered in marble but, after an earthquake partially crumbled the outer ring, the marble was reclaimed and used on other projects of the day.

Indeed, the Italians were great recyclers, lopping the heads off statues and replacing them with the latest ruler’s head. The old ones are still in storage should they be needed again. In Assisi, the town was rocked by earthquakes to the point where the townsfolk all but abandoned the mountainside homes to live on the valley floor, leaving the picturesque town to the Monks and tourists.

As I sat on a fallen ancient column in the Roman Forum, slipping off my glove to feel the hand carved detail of a person who lived centuries before me, one resounding thought filled my mind. These people, through earthquakes, floods, fires and wars, knew what it was to be struck down from all angles. They persevered and rebuilt time and time again.

Even as I toured through villages I could see the cracks on walls opening up, while in other places scaffolding held ancient buildings together. Even the David is slowly crumbling. Modern science has entwined him in fiber optics to monitor the growing cracks in his right leg as he bears the weight of centuries.

About Akanksha

Akanksha Verma is a blogger and founder of two online magazines, BBOOKS and DNS. She is a SAP consultant by profession, graduated in chemical engg. and a homemaker. The mission of her magazines is to promote budding writers and to bridge the gap between printed mass media and blogs. BBOOKS is basically to promote bloggers from wordpress and DNS is for promoting indian food bloggers.
This entry was posted in Browse BBOOKS themes, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Travel to Italy

  1. Hope you are feeling better. Love your blog!

  2. Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice written and include almost all important infos.

    I’d like to look extra posts like this .

Comments are closed.