Homemade Snacks: Featured Post


I am glad to announce that this week’s featured author is Lisa from  www.sweetsofstyle.com

She has got majority of the votes (more than 50 %) for her entry Donuts.

 

Here is a little about her which she wants to share with us:

 

 1.  Your favorite book -
                     To Kill a MOckingbird
2. Your favorite food -
                     Home baked Gluten Free Macaroni & Cheese (comfort food!)
3. Your goal in life -
                      to be happy, healthy and full of joy
4. If you will be writing a book, what it will be about -
                     definitely my family……the tale will be told one day!
5. Your country and little about your family –    
                    I live in Australia but grew up on Oklahoma.  
                    I met my husband in his hometown of      Newcastle and 20 years later, I’m still here with a fabulous family of my husband, 16 year old son, and 13 year old daughter.  
                  They are amazing and I simply adore them!
 
 
 
 I was diagnosed with celiac almost 18 years ago and have found cooking only recently.  This was a result of me wanting to create all the treats that I love and simply couldn’t tolerate.  
So now I am constantly in the kitchen which not only provides stress relief from a busy day at work, but gives my family something to enjoy.  
Our table is now filled with visitors on a regular basis and the kids’ friends look forward to seeing what school time treats they have to share.  
Visit my blog at www.sweetsofstyle.com for gluten free, and mainly healthy, goodies!
 
 

Here is her winning entry if you missed to read it:

 

You spin me right ’round, Baby……

Some of you may remember my surrender to Celiac and my declaration that I will NOT partake in foods that make me sick. You may also remember that only a few weeks after publicly declaring my guarantee to my gut that I had a complete and utter meltdown in a shopping centre because I wanted a freaking donut. I knew that it would make me sick and I just didn’t care. But what stopped me was not the horrible stomach ache and immediate migraine. What stopped me was that, after having an amazing gluten free donut atBabycakes NYC in Orlando, I just knew that I could make something more scrumptious than that shopping centre, fatty donut.My first attempt came from the Babycakes NYC cookbook which has proven a springboard for recipe trials for me. It was pretty good and satisfied that donut desire. But yesterday the harkening of the hole was very strong and I decided to adapt and test for my team meeting.I have always loved donuts. Daylight Donuts in Main Street in Broken Arrow was always so delicious, particularly early
mornings. Who can go past the maple bar or the sim-
ple glazed donut?
Later, I became obsessed
with Dunkin Donuts donut holes……. They were so easy to pop in your mouth and were responsible for the “Freshman Five” despite dancing 8 hours a day. (It couldn’t have been the Little Caesars’ and beer in the dorm, of course.I promise I was studying Mom!). And don’t even get me started on Krispy Kreme aka full of crack.But, they are all off limits and just not worth the pain. So I bring you a delicious alternative that is sure to put a smile to your dial and a dunk to your coffee.Gluten Free and Low Fat Donuts – yield 17 donuts
               Disclaimer: This recipe was super fast to make, although because I’m such a messy cook, the chocolate ganache clean up was diabolical!
2 cups gluten free all purpose flour
1 tsp xanthan gum
1 & ½ tsp baking powder
1 & ½ tsp baking soda
2 eggs lightly beaten
340 grams low fat vanilla yogurt
2 Tbls applesauce
2 tsp vanilla
5 Tbls sugar free maple syrup
Topping of your choice:
Cinnamon Sugar
Chocolate Ganache
150g chocolate melts
50 g light cream
Peanut Butter Ganache
75 g chocolate melts
75 g peanut butter
50 g light creamPreheat oven to 160 and spray the donut tins with low fat cooking spray. I used a pastry brush to ensure the entire donut was covered.
 
Combine all the dry ingredients and whisk (you can add ¼ cup cocoa powder for chocolate and maybe a bit more
yogurt if you need it)
.
Combine all wet ingredients in another bowl and combine.
 
Make a hole in the centre of the dry ingredients and tip the wet ingredients in. Gently fold altogether until just combined.
The mixture will be thick & airy.
 
I like to use a piping bag for donuts but, since I was making two flavours, the easiest way is with 3 bags. Set a large
piping tip in one bag and set aside.
 
Put another bag into a tall cup and fill with mixture.
 
Once filled, twist the top, turn point side up and snip. Place the filled bag directly into the other bag with the piping tip
so you don’t have to wash the tip between flavours.
 
Divide batter evenly into pans with a circular motion but don’t fill too high or you will have donut muffins!  
Bake for about 8-10 minutes until golden and skewer comes out clean. Let cool for a minute or two and then invert onto

cooling racks.

If you are covering in cinnamon sugar, do this while they are hot or it won’t stick (you can brush on butter before dipping in the cinnamon sugar but that adds fat)

To make a chocolate ganache, put the chocolate melts into a small glass bowl and microwave in bursts of 20-30 seconds, stirring in between, until melted. Add cream and mix. You may need to microwave again for 10 seconds to make it thin again. Dip the donuts in the ganache. Coat with gluten free sprinkles (check carefully as Cake Mate are gluten free, but Queen are not).

Enjoy with a steaming hot coffee and friends and next time you are at the shopping centre, can walk past Donut King with your head held high, no headache or stomach ache, and have the knowledge that healthier and yummier donuts are only 15 minutes away!

About Akanksha

Akanksha Verma is a blogger and founder of two online magazines, BBOOKS and DNS. She is a SAP consultant by profession, graduated in chemical engg. and a homemaker. The mission of her magazines is to promote budding writers and to bridge the gap between printed mass media and blogs. BBOOKS is basically to promote bloggers from wordpress and DNS is for promoting indian food bloggers.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Browse BBOOKS themes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.